Homemade Larabars.

I am a terrible snacker, I don’t eat many big meals but I am constantly snacking.Therefore I am always on the hunt for tasty healthy or at least semi-healthy snacks.
My wonderful father brought me back a selection of Larabars from the United States of America a couple of months ago and I just fell in love with them, especially the Cherry Pie flavour, it is just the right amount of sweet and tart. Since you can not find these in Australia, well I have not found them anywhere, I decided to try and make them myself. It seemed an easy enough task especially because in most of the bars depending on the flavour there are only 3-4 ingredients. After some quantity tweaking I think that I got the recipe right.

Chocolate Chip Larabars
<Ingredients
1 cup raw Almonds, Cashews or walnuts
1 cup dried Dates or Figs
1/2 cup Chocolate chips

Method
1. Place the dates/figs and almonds/walnuts/cashews in a food processor.For the chocolate chip ones I used dates and cashews because thats the ingredients that are listed in the original Larabars.
IMG_0288
2. If making one of the variations listed below add the other ingredients and blend once again. For the chocolate chip bars, just add the chocolate chips and pulse till combined.
3. Spread out on a baking sheet lined with baking paper
IMG_0296
4. Once the mixture is cooled this should take a couple of hours, cut into bars. I cut mine into squares because I like them a bit smaller.
IMG_0301

Notes
In the bought Larabars they don’t use figs. I prefer figs both texturally and taste wise. If you do you figs remember to cut off the hard stem because this will not blend. Mixing figs and dates makes the bars really yummy.
Try not to use only walnuts when making these bars, it is better to use a mixture of almonds and walnuts. Using an entire cup of walnuts might make the bars slightly bitter.
Do not use a high speed blender to blend the mixture this will make the mixture too pasty. You want there to be little bits of nuts throughout the whole bar.

Variations
Apple pie- 1 Cup walnuts/almonds/cashews, 1 cup dried apple, 1 Cup dried figs/dates, 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon.
Mint Chocolate- 1 cup Walnuts/almonds/cashews, 1 cup dried figs/ dates, 3 Tablespoons cocoa powder, 3-4 drops peppermint oil.
Cherry pie- 1 cup walnuts/almonds/cashews, 1 cup dried Cherries, 1 cup dried figs/dates, 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon (Optional). Make sure that the cherries are good quality, I used bed cherries once and the whole thing tasted like sultanas.
Banana bread- 1 cup walnuts/almonds/cashews, 1 cup dried Banana, 1 cup dried figs/dates,1/2 teaspoon cinnamon, 1/2 cup chocolate chips (Optional). For a more banana bread flavour, use a mixture of walnuts and almonds.
Lemon chia (Inspired by organic cliff bars)- 1 cup almonds, 1 cup dried figs/dates, zest of 2 lemons, juice of 1 lemon, 3-4 tablespoons chia seeds. This works the best if you soak the chia in the lemon juice 15mins prior to adding them to the mixture.

I have not tried a Carrot cake version, I do not have a dehydrator and I expect for the carrot cake bar they use dried carrot.

Leave a Reply

